Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS) are U.S. federal regulations specifying design, construction, performance, and durability requirements for motor vehicles and regulated Automobile safety-related components, systems, and design features.

Read more about FMVSS here:

Production Part Approval Process (PPAP) is used in the automotive supply chain for establishing confidence in component suppliers and their production processes. Actual measurements are taken of the parts produced and are used to complete the various test sheets of PPAP.

Read more about PPAP here:

Advanced product quality planning (or APQP) is a framework of procedures and techniques used to develop products in industry, particularly the automotive industry. It is quite similar to the concept of Design for Six Sigma (DFSS).

Read more about APQP here:

Design for Six Sigma (DFSS) is a business-process management method related to traditional Six Sigma. It is used in many industries, like finance, marketing, basic engineering, process industries, waste management, and electronics. It is based on the use of statistical tools like linear regression and enables empirical research similar to that performed in other fields, such as social science. While the tools and order used in Six Sigma require a process to be in place and functioning, DFSS has the objective of determining the needs of customers and the business, and driving those needs into the product solution so created. DFSS is relevant for relatively simple items / systems. It is used for product or process design in contrast with process improvement. Measurement is the most important part of most Six Sigma or DFSS tools, but whereas in Six Sigma measurements are made from an existing process, DFSS focuses on gaining a deep insight into customer needs and using these to inform every design decision and trade-off.

Read more about DFSS here:

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has a legislative mandate under Title 49 of the United States Code, Chapter 301, Motor Vehicle Safety, to issue Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS) and Regulations to which manufacturers of motor vehicle and equipment items must conform and certify compliance. FMVSS 209 was the first standard to become effective on March 1, 1967. A number of FMVSS became effective for vehicles manufactured on and after January 1, 1968. Subsequently, other FMVSS have been issued. New standards and amendments to existing standards are published in the Federal Register.

These Federal safety standards are regulations written in terms of minimum safety performance requirements for motor vehicles or items of motor vehicle equipment. These requirements are specified in such a manner "that the public is protected against unreasonable risk of crashes occurring as a result of the design, construction, or performance of motor vehicles and is also protected against unreasonable risk of death or injury in the event crashes do occur."

This is the future site for FMVSS documents, testing facilities, NHTSA updates, and etc. It will be more comprehensive than FMVSS.GOV, since it will offer actual accredited facilities that are certified to test your components or vehicles in your area.

It will also contain downloads to industry-standard, AIAG-approved documents such as automotive DVP&R's, DFMEA's, etc. This includes Design Verification Plan & Report, as well as Design Failure Mode and Effects Analysis.

Typical facilities will offer testing such as durability, key life, corrosion, test-to-failure, impact, sun load, weatherometer, Florida and  Arizona testing, lighting, stone-pecking, deflection and etc. If there's an OEM test, there will be somebody close by willing to test it.

This domain as well as is for sale. Contact us at: fmvss at fmvss dot com.

See also:

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards and Regulations

FMVSS Test Specification Forms




This site is not affiliated with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration